18 Comments
founding

Groove is indeed in the heart. Thanks for sharing these. For a long time because of Michael’s sensitivity to sound I basically didn’t listen to music at all, and it’s nice to have it back now. I missed some of these songs and miss others -- I’ll have to look them up.

Expand full comment

Mine are Giant Steps, Coltrane and Playing God, by Polyphia.

Expand full comment

"Groove Is In The Heart" used to cheer me up.

But with each passing year, I realize I probably won't realize my dream of owning a yacht -- or a racehorse - named #MySuccotashWish 😂

Expand full comment
Oct 23, 2022Liked by Thomas Pluck

Much to my family's annoyance, the cathartic song for me after my first real breakup was George Michael's One More Try. We had a stereo in the living room and I played it over and over sing-crying.

Expand full comment

Whatever gets you through the night, it's alright, alright...

Thanks for sharing this!

Expand full comment

"Dreaming," for sure. Warren Zevon's "Nobody's in Love this Year" got me through a bad year.

Expand full comment

Bonzo Goes to Bitburg carries an unexpectedly weighty emotional heft.

Expand full comment
Oct 23, 2022Liked by Thomas Pluck

Quite a list. Some great songs and some songs I've never in 79 1/2 years heard of. May I copy the list so I can look for them?

Expand full comment

Love most of them

Expand full comment