5 Comments
founding

Thanks for all these recommendations and the Apple Play List. (And a big fuck you kindly to Bob Dylan.)

This is kind of the opposite direction from where you're headed but have I talked/written your ear off about the podcast "60 Songs That Explain the 90's" yet? I know you don't really do podcasts, but he goes down these great musical rabbit holes for each one, and they're more than just trivia, they're re-evaluating what the whole thing meant. If you're ever tempted, I'd recommend trying the Beastie Boys' Sabotage episode:

https://www.theringer.com/2022/7/20/23270742/beastie-boys-sabotage-history-podcast

In term of music, I've kind of been getting into Latin party music? Did I mention I have bad taste? Like Bomba Estéreo's Soy Yo. https://youtu.be/bxWxXncl53U

Expand full comment
founding
Nov 17, 2022Liked by Thomas Pluck

Just want to say how grateful I am for your substack posts. I think this actually all started with Badreads, so it's a nice thread from Lauren Hough's posts to yours, and then from yours to WanderFinder and An Irritable Métis (I love those so much!) I got the new album by The Yeah Yeah Yeahs based on your recommendation and I'm so happy I did- it really is good. I've also been listening to Carolyn Kendrick on Bandcamp. I heard her sing live in San Francisco and fell in love with the song "Weatherman", but then couldn't find it anywhere, and when I contacted her to ask about it, she sent me an MP3 of it. :-) And lately whenever my son is in the car with me we listen to Frank Ocean. I don't know what it is about the last minute of the song "Self Control", but wow, makes me cry every time.

Expand full comment